Giannifive

Question about fragility of hairspring

Question

Hi all.  I have a question about the fragility of hairsprings.  I’m completely new to watch repair, and have started by regulating my mechanical watches (Seiko 7S26 and Orient F6922 movements).  While adjusting the rate with a wooden dowel oriented parallel to the balance wheel, I have accidentally lightly grazed the hairspring.  It was enough pressure to stop the balance wheel, but there appear to be no negative consequences.  Both watches keep great time and have good positional accuracy.  And according to my timegrapher the beat error and amplitude were not affected.

So should I just chalk this up to good luck?  Or could there be lurking damage I’m not seeing?

10 answers to this question

Hairsprings are very fragile. When you are working with them or around you need to be very careful, one tiny slip and it can be unrepairable. From what you have said I think you have got off lightly as the watch is still going and keeping good time.

I think you got rather lucky! If the timegrapher is showing acceptable readings in all positions and visual inspection indicates all ok then I would leave it alone. From what you describe I would check that the spring is still in the flat - look from the side of the balance and see that the spring is not tilted in any way. 

I was not as lucky with my F6922, I was moving the balance cock while trying to reduce the beat error. However, the HS got bent badly when the balance cock moved suddenly. I am in the process of trying to reshape the HS, but it is quite bent. 

Does anyone know where (if) I can get a new Balance Assembly for the F6922? I am based in the UK. 

Thanks