Is anyone familiar with a pennant lathe ...? Is it hard to get accessories for them...what kind of colletts do they take....would anyone recommend getting one or not...? Im just starting to learn. Would anyone know where to get parts I.E.... Slide rests, tool rests...ect

Thanks 

Ryan

There are not many about so little is know about them and what accessories where available for them, I think they where a very simple small lathe for the cutting of staffs, and pivots etc and seemed to have been supplied with a simple flip over tool rest and tailstock and center, you should be able to get 8mm collets but there is no information on what type fit it, any manufacturer supplied accessories would be nigh on impossible to find for it. The following sight has the most information that can be found on the lathe:

http://www.lathes.co.uk/pennant/index.html

Thanks it looks just like that one but its a "derbyshire pennant" As far as making staffs and pivots or even to practice what would I need just a running lathe and a t-rest...? All im looking to do is staffs and pivots. It comes with headstock, tail stock and bed can a t-rest be jury rigged to fit...? Or should i just stay away from it

• 3 years later...

Got one of these off ebay, arrived today. Cheap. Including motor and a speed controller pedal that appears to double as a foot warmer. 

The wiring was extremely scary so i have removed it. I'm comfortable with minor electrical work so this will not be a big deal to replace. Considering doing it ritzy with modern reproduction cloth jacketed power cord. 

Mine seems to have a better-than-average quality of casting, and a more flamboyant Pennant logo. 

I've been stripping it down, cleaning parts with wd40 and rags, and reassembling with new grease and oil. 

These vary a bit, and mine doesn't have a hinged cover over the tailstock like most of them do. The tailstock housing is a single casting on mine.