Omega stem shaft pivot hole problem

I have been working on a lovely old 1924 Omega 23.7 S.T2 gents' wristwatch and have had some limited success in stripping down, servicing and reassembly in that the movement now works and keeps good time. However, on inspecting the parts as I went, I realised that the crown and stem weren't original, explaining why it kept falling out. So I ordered a replacement Omega stem for the exact calibre from Cousins, which arrived today. However, thinking this would be the issue resolved, I was disappointed to find after closer examination of the keyless works, that the pivot shaft end of the stem will not slide home through the pivot shaft hole. I have included photos the best I can to illustrate the problem with some additional photos of the watch for reference.

I have been watchmaking as a hobby for about 8 months and this looks like a pretty advanced problem to solve. If anyone has any ideas how I can get the stem engaged in the pivot hole or any other suggestions, and really appreciate hearing from you.

20180525_055446087_iOS.jpg

20180513_171501212_iOS.jpg

20180513_181705623_iOS.jpg

20180526_150026125_iOS.jpg

I noticed that, sometimes, Cousins offers more than one stem for a movement and I once ordered a stem for a Seiko (one of those mass produced and popular caliber movements) and it was the wrong length...

So maybe the stem isn't really the right one ?

• Like 1

I noticed that, sometimes, Cousins offers more than one stem for a movement and I once ordered a stem for a Seiko (one of those mass produced and popular caliber movements) and it was the wrong length...
So maybe the stem isn't really the right one ?

Thanks Chopin. I’ve taken your advice and ordered a NOS item on eBay from France. Fingers crossed.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Omega did did change some stems on earlier calibers during their lifespan, but I’m only aware of them changing the threaded diameter. Not sure why they did that.