Hamilton Electric 14K Nautilus 200

wetbird

Interested in knowing, if paying out $350 for the repair of this watch would be practical. An estimate valve (to a collector) would help me make a decision about having the restoration preformed. Any estimates of the value would be appreciated.

Thank you.

3 hours ago, wetbird said:

Interested in knowing, if paying out $350 for the repair of this watch would be practical. An estimate valve (to a collector) would help me make a decision about having the restoration preformed. Any estimates of the value would be appreciated.

Thank you.

imageproxy.php?img=&key=77f0dcc5ac0f9d5b

Pictures are required please.

13 hours ago, wetbird said:

Thank you.

imageproxy.php?img=&key=77f0dcc5ac0f9d5b

That imageproxy link doesn't seem to be working.

J

Thank you. 

Clock as is.jpg

While I'm no expert on this type of watch, I do think that this is the best-looking model of the Nautilus watches. It also appears to be the first one, made in 1963. There's a book by Rene Rondeau, "Watch of the Future", that is all about the Hamilton Electrics. It contains images of what might be all of the Nautilus line. That it is a 14K example, and in what looks like excellent condition, I'd say it might be worth it. Is the back gold as well, or is it stainless steel? I don't know that there is a huge demand for these right now, but it might picking up, being that they are examples of the fashionable mid-century styles.

A check of Ebay might be your best bet for figuring a market value for this watch. 

Working on electric watches seems to be a rather in-demand specialty. I happen to be working on my first one now. Fortunately, I have the service manual. Otherwise I'd be more doomed towards failure. I'm almost through reassembling. Fingers crossed. Good luck.

Edited by MrRoundel
Correct Typo