Hi From Munich

colinh

Hi,

I'm not exactly a noob: I took apart my Dad's automatic[*] when I was 5...

... and I've been a hobbyist goldsmith for about twenty years, so I already have experience with fiddly little things (like diamonds[**] pinging across the room) and also have some of the equipment.

[*] reassembling it is on my list of Things To Do.

[**] diamonds are easy to find: darken the room and crawl around the floor with a torch. The wee little things SPARKLE!!! :-)

Anyway, in the meantime I have a whole pile of nice watches:

A Longines automatic: my first "proper" watch. I'd just started work and got an advance on my salary (weird, but that's how it was). I was walking along the shopping street with a literal wad of cash in my pocket. Did I invest it in gold? Shares? A house? No—I bought a watch. Oh well...

Next, a Movado (museum watch?) : very flat, and just one gold blob at 12. Extremely accurate, but very imprecise :-)

Later, an Omega Seamaster Chronograph: Ah. At last. A *real* watch. COSC certified, no less. A "chronometer". Costs significantly more, because it's been so well tested and everything. Unfortunately, by the next day it had gained 17 seconds. I took it back, and they adjusted it. Six months later the stopwatch stopped working. I took it back, it got sent to Omega, and they fixed it. A few years later and the stopwatch has stopped working again... Now there's confidence-inspiring Swiss quality for you.

While it was being fixed (this took a while) I saw, and couldn't resist, a Fortis Cosmonaut's Official Chronograph (with the Lemania 5100 movement). My favourite, but not working at present.

At the moment I'm making do with a Sinn UX (in black) and a Sinn U1 in Deutscher U-boot Stahl grey.