Stem extension help

Chopin

I have to use a stem extension on a Seiko Diver's with a screw down crown and I have some questions as I've never done this before.

First of all, how do you tighten the stem to the stem extension ? I know that I'll probably have to use a bit of glue but what do people do to tighten it ? Do you use a small vice ?

Second of all, I know that I'll have to cut it to length but how does one do it ? Trial and error ? Measure an approximate length and then just shorten it bit by bit until you get it right ?

Edited by Chopin

I"ve used these before to good effect. I just put a crown on the extension and a drop of glue on the original stem. Now holding the original stem in a pair of pliers twist the extender on using the crown to screw it on. You don't need to use a lot of force. 

In terms of then shortening your new extended stem then approach this no differently than you would a normal stem situation. This is a great posting:

It''s sometimes necessary to shorten the original stem so that when the extender is fitted and shortened there's appropriate thread on the extender to fit the crown. Trial fit everything before the drop of glue!

• Like 1

That is one method that I was thinking of... Thanks!

At first I'm going to try and just trim the extension and see if it works, if not then I guess I'll have to trim the stem as well.

Another question which I forgot. How and what do you use to cut the stems and extensions ?

I don't have any special such tools but I do have the tools that you'll find in a normal household... Hope I have a pair of cutters with good blades...

That is one method that I was thinking of... Thanks!
At first I'm going to try and just trim the extension and see if it works, if not then I guess I'll have to trim the stem as well.
Another question which I forgot. How and what do you use to cut the stems and extensions ?