Lathe Motor Variable Speed Controller

jdrichard

I have beed trying to get a good foot operated variable speed controller for my new Lathe motor. Here is the problem. The hand controller works great and the motor seem to like it. I then purchased a Foredom Foot operated speed controller (FCT) , see photo. Upon using it, i noticed that the motor was pulsating a bit more and thus vibrating more (not as smooth). So is this normal and will it damage the motor?b45b25265116f2ddecf3f0b17d19e102.jpeg94810267659e0c8d1fa66fa93be1d2e2.jpgd2eb0d9bc57bcf79724c37dc6eb21ee5.jpg

Is their a better foot controller? I can always gift the Foredom controller to my kids?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I really can’t help with this I’m no electrical engineer. The lathe I had was fitted with a foot control and I never knew what it was like before the conversion.   

I am an Electrical Engineer and I think that the AC signal goes through an A to D converter and then it is digitally regulated and then out an inverter. And the frequency out of the inverter is pulsing slower than the Input frequency causing the motor to pulse a bit and then causing the burping.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

You're the sparky, but I'd say the top block diagram you put up is of a VFD, and a VFD will only work on three phase afaik (which is in itself a really convenient way to get variable speed, just use a 3P motor and VFD).  Bottom is a triac universal motor controller.   Is the bottom circuit what you have?  The SR foredoms are universal motors and the larger X are DC where the controller is PWM I believe.    Grasping at straws a bit, it shouldn't matter which controller if the motor is universal.  The motor is definitely universal?  I'm thinking it has to be, but you know what happens when one assumes. 

Have you checked the brushes?   if they are worn and not making good contact, it can show up as pulsating at different speeds.  

Edited by measuretwice