Incabloc lyre spring escapee

jonsug

Hi everyone. I wonder if someone can help me. I am just a beginner and new to the site but reading through some of the threads have been amazed how helpful everyone is.

I have a 50's Universal Geneve wrist watch with a 263 movement which had stopped and needed a thorough clean. I have fully disassembled it but realise now I probably did not need to take off the upper (watch face side) balance pinion jewel plate with the lyre spring, just to clean the capstone and jewel!

Anyway, whilst struggling to reassemble this section, the lyre spring (pictured before escape) made a successful break for it and is lost to the world forever.  Could anyone please tell me how to find another of the right size to fit? I know Cousins sell them, but do not know how to relate their ETA sizes to UG movements. Is there a conversion list somewhere?

Hugely grateful for any assistance.

Best regards

Jon

IMG_7863 (2).JPG

Hello Jon. I'm sorry about your lost part as I know how that feels. I wouldn't give up looking for it though as usually they are just 1-2 feet away at most. Sometimes they get stuck on hands, fingers, clothing, etc.

If you ask me that looks like the standard incabloc that, more or less, most watches use and I wouldn't be surprised if they were mostly made in a standard size by the same manufacturer (happened often in horology).

Do you have any watches, perhaps cheap or broken down so that you can borrow the spring and check that, indeed, they are identical ? That's what I would do. Maybe a run to a local antique fair and buy a cheap broken one that has the same incabloc system.