Pearl Brand Watchmaker Tools?

Hi everyone,

I've just found this place in India where they offer the Janta (spelling?) cleaning machine and a whole staking tool set among others. Apparently, the Janta is a copy of the Elma (spelling?) which is a top rated machine I understand.

The price is attractive but the shipping charges are outrageous (almost like buying 2 sets). I'm still thinking about diving in and buying both but I'd like some input about their product, especially the staking set about which I have no experience. As I suggest above the company name is Pearl.

I'm not writing a link here in case that, by doing so, I'll be breaking any forum rules (could be interpreted as a promotion -- I have not link to them whatsoever). Just an honest request for opinions before I break the bank.

Thank you in advance,

Robert

PS. I submitted the link for consideration to the pertinent section of suppliers. I didn't know shipping rates then!

Edited by bobm12

No problem - you can post the link. A lot if their goods seem to be Elma copies.

Also noticed under construction pages which don't inspire much confidence. Buyer beware :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bobm12,   

I have a relative coming from India next month.If it helps I can ask them to carry one for you.

I don't know how much it costs but you will have to pay local shpg from Austin TX,and local shpg chgs in India.

Should be cheaper than Int'l shpg.

Just returning the favor,since you helped fix my watch.

Thanks,

Thank you rarin2din,

I appreciate it and I might take the opportunity as you so generously offered, but before I commit I would like to have some input about the quality of the tools. I know they are no Bergeon, but to have a measure of how much they approach to a professional or at least a workable watchmaker set would be my aim with this post.