When to Service or Regulate

Question

I have an Omega Speedmaster 1861 which is gaining 55-60 seconds per day. How can you tell if the watch needs a service or just regulating? I have checked the watch for magnetism and it is not magnetised. The watch was originally purchased in 2010. I only wear the watch a few times per month.

I have made a short video of the watch on a Timegrapher .

Any suggestions / comments would be most appreciated.

Have you tested with a compass or actually demagnetized?

If the first, please have the watch demagnetize anyway, and check again.

If the second, my opinion is that regulation will be enough.

• Like 1

I would look first to the amplitude. The Omega service spec says the amplitude should be greater than 190deg in the vertical plane 24 hours after a full wind.  However, mine is about 10 months old, and I wound it about 12 hours ago; I just checked it on the timegrapher and the amplitude was 330 degrees, varying by +/-3 in the horizontal plane as yours is shown. In the vertical plane (crown right), this dropped to about 290 degrees, varying by +/- 7

Yours has a lot more variation in the amplitude and timekeeping so I would say it's time for a service.  It will be very difficult to regulate with that kind of variability.

How often you wear the watch is irrelevant. The oils will deteriorate with time regardless of use.  Servicing it now will save you from a bigger bill if you leave it till later.

• Like 1
5 minutes ago, StuartBaker104 said:

Yours has a lot more variation in the amplitude and timekeeping so I would say it's time for a service.  It will be very difficult to regulate with that kind of variability.

I do not see a very large variance of amplitude and timekeeping. perhaps a bit more than ideal. but nothing terrible. What would have to be seen is how's behaving in different positions, which he video doesn't show.

I agree with seeing variation in positions to learn more here.