New guy

Nello

My name is Nello

live in Charlotte, NC

love watches. Mostly mechanicals.

grail watches: 1680 red, 1675, 16710 Pepsi, speedy pro, anything jaeger Le Coultre 38mm and above.

auto mechanic by trade.

just bought some cheapy tools to do some hand swaps and crystal swaps. I know that cheap tools suck. I am poor right now. Haha

Thanks for the welcome guys.

i am on a mobile now and it is kinda hard to look-crown and crystal and hand replacements tips will be my search items tonight.

1. Tips for getting crown started on a cut stem?

2. If you did not have a cased movement to start with, how do you determine correct stem length?

that kind of stuff.

anyone have any good sections or thread titles/links to look at, I appreciate the help. I will be searching in a bit.

Hey Nello,

Welcome to the forum. If you're into mechanical watches, this is the place to learn! I started here with knowing only how to change a  battery in a quartz watch, and I've just finished my first chronograph valjoux 7750. In between? Well, a LOT of maimed watches, flying springs, screws, levers, hands. mainsprings. But also I've succesfully overhauled my ENTIRE collection of watches: 5 vintage Omega constellations, 3 Bulovas (a 333 Oceanograper, a 666 Oceanographer, and a Jet Stream), 1 Jules Jurgensen transistorized+balance wheel, 5 Sicura Jumphours (3 manual and 2 automatic winding), 4 Cordura watches (including 2 mechanical alarms), a Boctok Russian divers watch.....you get the idea.