Help a begginer with a 2836-2 problem

I'm fairly new to the watch world, but I like to tinker and needed a new hobby...so down the rabbit hole I've gone :)

I have a 2836-2 that I've been tinkering with just to get used to working on a movement. 

Please bear with me as I'm not up on all my nomenclature, but here's my problem.

I was working on resetting the keyless. I went about it from the back, then the front(under the dial and date wheel). 

After getting everything back together the crown will wind the watch, and it feels like it's winding the hands, but it won't turn the date wheel!?
I tried winding the hours thru to see if it would change the date that way but it doesn't. It seems to let loose if that makes sense when the date should change then just spins freely. If I push the crown back in then pull it out again it engages, changing the hours until it slips again. 

Sry for not being technical as I'm still learning. Any advice would be gratefully appreciated.

I've included some pics if that helps...
Also a quick video...

Any help would be greatly appreciated....I'm sure I screwed something up but can't seem to figure it out...and yes I have looked at the manual too.

Thanks in advance.

20160425_210614.jpg

20160425_211414.jpg

20160425_211518.jpg

20160425_211653.jpg

20160425_212022.jpg

I'm not sure what you mean by the combined setting lever jumper?

I pushed the top of the setting lever over so that it engaged the end of the clutch lever and I believe the bottom of it is engaging the set lever.  Again sorry, still trying to wrap my head around the different names of all the part.

Nope that wheel was there, just didn't get it in the picture.  I tore everything down again last night and tried again to no avail...then just needed to step away from it.  However I did get the date to change by winding the hands/time..but not fully.  I'll give it another go here tonight or tomorrow night.  And pics/vids that I should try and take for you guys?