arkobugg

Greetings everyone - just joined this fantastic forum...

I have never done working with watches before, so this is going to be exacting.

I have done lots of motorcycles, and old classic cars, and also some old speedometers for both motorcycles and cars. But never been inside a watch before...

It all started with that I bought my first diver back in 1977, that was a Antima Sport Professional with an ETA 2784 drive I think. This stopped for 2 years ago, after running good since then.

So then I decided, that I could try servicing this myself. And after looking into this forum, with so many cleaver people, and also Marks amazing videos. Im confident that Im going to pull this of.

But before I start with that, I have an Seiko diver 7002, (first generation)that is losing some time, and Im wounder how long should I controll it befor I try to adjust it?

Antima.jpg

Seiko 7002.jpg

Welcome aboard Arkobugg, your interests are so very similar to my own so you should do just fine with watches.  Purchase a couple of old working wristwatch movements from eBay fir your first victims, and ask if you are not sure about anything and someone will help you.

Hello Arkobug and Welcome.

Best tip I have got is to take photos before and after you remove any watch movement part.  Like Geo says get a couple of old movements to practise on and find out how they work - your mechanical capability will certainly give you an edge.

As regards your Seiko diver that is losing time, if it is not a tolerable amount then the adjustment for the timing or "regulation" is relatively easy and Mark has an excellent video on the subject for you to watch.  You will find it on u-tube under "How to regulate a mechanical watch - watch repair tutorial" but perhaps you should have a shot on an old watch first