Keitharoo

Cleaning And Oiling A Pocket Watch

Question

I'm a total newbie to servicing my pocket watch collection. I'm about to first clean and oil a practice movement, then eventually do my vintage railroad grade watches. I don't have a machine...yet, so I'll be doing things by hand. I'm hoping to draw on all of your experience. How long do I soak the parts in the Zenith cleaning solution? Then, how long in the Zenith rinse? Are there any parts that should NOT go into the cleaning solution at all? Then, what parts should NOT be oiled?

6 answers to this question

Obviously the dial must not be soak in cleaning solution but you can clean enamel dial in distilled water with some drops of dishwashing liquid.

I suggest you read some books like "Practical Watch Repairing" (Donald de Carle), the "Chicago School of Watchmaking" or the "Bulova School of Watchmaking"

Thanks for all the guidance.  I will look into those books.  Also, at the suggestion of many, I went ahead and bought an ultrasonic cleaning machine, so at least now I won't be doing this by hand.

Smart man, I did the same myself after attempting to service my first movement:)  

I set my ultrasonic cleaner timer anywhere from 3-10 minutes, depending on the dirtiness of the movement.  As for a rinse, I just rinse in warm water before blow drying all the parts.  I know there is a "rinse" solution out there but my "filtered" tap water works just fine;)

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Similar Content

• By trevsdad
      I'd like to try my hand at converting a vintage pocket into a wristwatch.