Replacing A Quartz Crystal Oscillator

jas

Hello Jas;

I'm new to watches and this forum too and never done a crystal change-out on a watch. However, I also have my head in electronics. It seems to me that a lot of watch crystals operate at 32,768 Hz. It all depends on the size and type you have, but you can find certain types 32,768 Hz crystals on eBay, for example: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/10Pcs-32-768KHz-32768HZ-Crystal-Oscillator-2-x-6-mm-TOP-/272041594203?hash=item3f56f14d5b:g:nVwAAOSwSHZWg4uU

Soldering is going to be a bit tricky as the watch pcb's aren't the biggest in the world and quite fragile.

Did you de-solder the old crystal and tested it?

If you can find out which movement you have, sometimes, if you are lucky, you can find a new circuit-board or the complete movement on eBay, for not much money.

Hope that helps?

Yeah...i did it a lot of times...i found out that the most comon problems in quarts movement is the crystal..after u've changed,it function well again..now i need the source for crystal..its hard to find a crystal in my supplier in phil.

I always did it...no need to find a new movement..or new circuit block...there are many model of movements that so rare..and expensive...to buy new one..replacing crystal is always a remedy..if coil is ok and the wheels.

Really ramon have that? Is that u mean? I plan to order a brandnew but i have some question..what is the crystal size of black machine pc21?...and what is the smallest size of crystal oscillator for quarts? Thank u for the answer if have..

Hi Jas,

I believe that for US$5 it doesn't really justify the effort of changing the crystal oscillator in a pc21...that's how much the whole movement, brand new costs...but hey, if you enjoy doing that, my hat's off to you. That to me is a real feast!