Problem With Hampden 307 Keyless Works.

dalarry

hi everyone,

todd here, been away for some time due to recovery from a bad injury.

i am a reasonably skilled hobbyist, not a watchmaker.

currently i am working on a Hampden model 307 that is in near mint condition but won't wind.

i have the movement disassembled and everything looks good.

when i test the motion of the clutch assembly, and clutch lever with a bench key with the top plate off everything works properly.

however, when i reassemble the watch the clutch lever will not move the clutch into the winding position.

i am at a loss here.

something is obviously binding but i can't find it.

any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

i am attaching a pic of the clutch from my microscope that shows it is in good condition.

thanks everyone 

todd

post-807-0-30345900-1455056482_thumb.jpg

Edited by dalarry

Hey Todd,

Don't know if this will help, but I have seen more than most Hampdens, does the backside, (under dial) look like the attachment pic? This is a 307. Reason I ask, there were some slight design changes in some of the 12s Hampdens, not that anyone would notice, but change none the less. Hope you are well.

Dave

post-1800-0-98926000-1455064627_thumb.jp

That's what I meant, according to my Hampden reference book, 307's were mfg between 1917-1926, 1926 was the beginning of the end for DH in Canton so parts/plates may have been used from other models. My s/n is 3,774,961, yours is 3,749,483, roughly, 25k difference. That said, still doesn't solve your problem. Let me look into some other 12s movements with that same spring setup and get back to you. fair enough? Dave