Grease Reccomendation

Hi Guys,

This is my first post but I have been following Mark's videos and this forum for a few weeks.  This is a great place and an excellent resource for anyone looking for advice.  I have been a hobbyist for quite a while but am always looking to learn something new and increase my skill set.

I am writing because I would like to know the blue grease Mark uses on the keyless works.  I figure that it must be jismaa or 9501.  I am truly looking for a substitute for Rolex's MR4 grease.  I was thinking of using jismaa but noticed there are two kinds.  One with a blue label meant for carbon alloys and a green label for copper alloys (even though both greases are blue).  If jismaa is the grease of choice, should the blue label be used in the keyless or is there really a difference?  Thanks in advance for the advice and help!

Thank you gentlemen!  Thanks for the quick clarification Mark.  Is there a reason that you prefer 9501 over other greases (such as jismaa, kt22, moly, etc)?  Would you think that 9501 would be a suitable substitute for MR4?  Thanks again for the warm welcome and help.

I used 9501 for several years now and am very happy with the results. It tends to stay where you put it and it is very good with high friction parts. I tend to stick with what works well ;)

As a retired engineer and amateur horologist I try to keep costs down wherever possible, but not at detriment to the job in hand.

Regarding watch lubrication, I have been using Mobeous 9010 and 941 as recommended by Mark for the fast moving components. When it comes to grease, I just could not bring myself to spending £40 for 10ml of 9501. After giving it much thought and reading up about the qualities of different types of grease, I ended up purchasing Schumacher Moly Grease. This is used in a model race cars and is of a very highly quality. The consistency is very similar to 9501 and is very easy to apply using a oil dipper.