Hello, Watch Repairer Newbie Here

KeesHaninger

Yes Hi,

I've become fascinated with watches lately, particularly older mechnical ones. Why? I don't know, however I find ithe whole thing very exciting and thoroughly engrossing. I have a background in mechanical engineering as well as motor vehicle repair and am really looking forward to doing some tinkering on a micro scale.

I've been searching for sometime but finally I bought a project at the market this morning for peanuts: an Amida Castell which the salesman said was automatic. He gave it a shake and it ran briefly but kept stopping. On the way home I took off the back and thought the movement looked very clean, and didn;t appear to be an automatic, popped it back on, gave it a wind and it started running and kept running for some time. I timed it and it was losing a second each minute, however that seems to have sorted itself out and keeping time much better now. 

The watch looks alot more attractive in real life than in the pictures, particularly the dial.

Plans are to buy some tools: screwdrivers, and oilers, a loume?, maybe a small ultra sonic cleaner and strip it out, clean, lube and reassemble- if this doesn't destroy the watch I will firstly be very happy and secondly replace the crystal, and then find a band. 

I'll get stuck into reading some of the info on this site, thanks to everyone who's set it up. No doubt I'll have problems but I'll do my best to learn and do a good job.

Inside the backing case there are inscriptions for at least two seperate dates which I guess might be a service record of some sort. the last one appears to have an 88 or 85 at the end

post-1547-0-07468400-1446357316.jpg

post-1547-0-59934900-1446357327.jpg

post-1547-0-59706500-1446357333_thumb.jp

post-1547-0-65963800-1446357342_thumb.jp

post-1547-0-99047400-1446357347.jpg

post-1547-0-26057500-1446357370.jpg

• Like 1