Hello, New Here, New To Watch Repair

tvcee15

Hi everyone,

I thought I'd say hello and introduce myself a little before flooding the boards with all my newby questions. (I hope that's ok to do here... I've tried other forums but they are very advanced and I got the distinct feeling no one had patience for answering a bunch of basic questions there.... )

I'm a hobbyist and quite new at this. I got fascinated with watches after my great aunt, who is Swiss, left me a bunch of old watches, a Zenith PW, a few IWC wrist watches, etc. I had a career in medical research for 10 years, and had to retire early due to health reasons, so watch repair is a good substitute hobby I can do at home to keep me occupied (actually, so far I find watchmaking to be much more challenging than what I was doing in the lab... way tougher... :)

I did the TimeZone watch school courses 1 and 2, and then cleaned several old practice movements I got on the bay. (I like to practice on old Bulova movements, because they are inexpensive and many of them have interchangeable parts so if you lose a part you can scavange other movements... ).