Install Balance Wheel

danizzz

Hi everybody. I'm trying to learn this fascinating art. It's my first time and this is my first project.

I'm tryng to service myself my 2836 -2, but now i find big troubles to install again the balance wheel. After i put in properly it doesn't engage the fork pallet and the escape doesnt move.

I there a method to apply to insert the jewel on the balance right in the arm of the fork pallet? Any suggestion?

Did you check to see that the roller table jewel (impulse jewel) is still in place? It's possible it was damaged as you were removing the balance when you first took it out? Was the gear train running OK before you put in the pallet?

Welcome to troubleshooting!

From a previous post I made on the subject:-

"This is the bit that gave me the most heartache when I started.

Wind the watch 1-2 turns and check that the escapement levers flicks sharply from side to side by gently pushing it with a dry oiler or tooth pick.

If all is well, fit the balance wheel. Make sure that you position the balance jewel correctly regarding the end of the lever. Looking down on the lever, if it lying to the right, ensure that the balance jewel is even further to the right when you drop the balance into position. Vice versa if the lever is lying to the left. As you turn the balance cock into the correct position the balance jewel will automatically engage the lever and watch should start running.

As a wee aside, when oiling a watch, do not oil the pivot jewels on the escapement lever."

• Like 1