Rolex 2135 not self winding very well...

Hello, all!  I'm new to these forums, but I am an experienced amateur (been doing some semi-professional work for over 10 years).  I currently have a real stumper with a Rolex 2135.  The original problem when the watch was given to me for repair was a broken rotor axle, a pretty straightforward repair.  However, even though it's all fixed now (first with a replacement axle that was slightly looser than I prefer and then with a genuine Rolex complete rotor assembly), the watch will not self wind on the wrist very well.  It works just fine starting from a run down mainspring, but won't wind up enough on its own.  Hand-wound power reserve was 44 hours and I cannot find any hint of interference with the rotor to the case.  Does anyone have any similar experience with this movement?  I've serviced a few of these and had no similar problem.  The rotor spins as freely as any rotor I have ever seen.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Brian

4 hours ago, ManSkirtBrew said:

I recently did a full service on a 2135, and learned a lot about those automatic works and how sensitive they are to proper lubrication.

Lots of good info in the thread here.

Thanks for the reply.  I have seen the thread you cited, and as I mentioned, this is not a new movement to me.  I realize the care needed for reversers as well.  The potential epilame issue is not in play in this case since I have properly lubricated the self winding assembly and there is no spread of oil onto the reversers.

Seems to me, you have replaced worn parts but have not spotted what casued the wear in the first place. 

Mark offers a course on fault finding, which if doesn't make you a master repairman , it at least get this point accross that there is such a thing called diagnostics or fault finding in watch repair.

I would check every jewel/ hole/ gear/ pinion leave/ reverser/ barrel/ ratchet wheel/ barrl arbour etc  is winder module.

Good luck