Seiko 6923a not running after coil replacement

Hi everyone,

At the moment, I am stuck with this Seiko 6923-8080 (movement is a 6923a) and I would like to ask for your help.

I found it at a flea market some time ago. It didn't run and upon first inspection, I found that the wires of the coil have been ripped off of the soldering pads on the upper part. It took me a while to source a new coil, but I ended up finding a non-running donor watch on eBay. So the new coil is in now, the battery is fresh, all the contacting surfaces are cleaned, but it still doesn't run. I have a cheap device to test the electronic parts of a quartz watch (i.e. detecting the pulse that should drive the motor). This shows me a pulse, but compared to other quartz watches, it seems to be very weak. I also swapped the circuit board from the donor into this one with the same result. This testing device also has a "mechanical line-free" function. Using this, the hands seem to move freely.

I'm rather new to the hobby, so I wonder how to move forward. Is there any sense in trying to service the mechanical parts? Could it be, that the pulse of the driving electronics is, in fact, too weak? What other hints do you have for me? Basically, any advice is very much appreciated 🙂

Thanks a lot in advance and have a nice day!

PXL_20230501_095708235.jpg

PXL_20230501_095800266.jpg

• 3 weeks later...

it would be helpful to see picture of your testing device just so I can see what you're working with.

I don't suppose you have any other test equipment like a DVM for instance?

the problem with a quartz watch is it has a electronic component and a mechanical components. The electronic really needs better test equipment even without seeing the picture of what you have. This is were even having a digital volt meter would be nice but additional test equipment that you don't have would be even better but that's going to cost some money.