Watch Press Tool is Binding

I bought a watch case closer / crystal press off of AliExpress.  It binds when trying to cycle it.  I unscrewed the lower collar for the top and found a 3mm set screw in a 5mm non-threaded hole.  It is not a surprise that there was binding going on with that set screw swimming around in the hole.  The set screw was gouging up the shaft and damaging the collar threads (was rather hard to unscrew).  Has anyone had the same issue with these cheap Chinese presses?  I know that you often get what you pay for going on the cheap, but with some products you can get something that will work well without having to pay a premium price.

This is my first time ordering through AliExpress.  I contacted the seller and got the "I will check with our technical department. And I will let you know when I get the answer" and "but if I don't respond to you for a long time, Would you please contact me again?".  With that, I'm not optimistic dealing with the seller.  I regret not getting the press from Amazon.  Easier to return things or get a replacement.

If I don't hear back in a reasonable amount of time, I'll likely try to fix it myself.  Get a larger set screw and thread the hole for it.  Then clean up the shaft and grease it all up. 

61qAPFD+CVL._AC_SL1001_.jpg

20230329_235050.jpg

Edited by gpraceman

• gpraceman changed the title to Watch Press Tool is Binding

I'm sorry that you are having trouble. Buying cheap tools is an utter waste of money. When using tools you are relying on it to do its perfect job and not damage what you are working on.  I have seen reports on this tool that say it isn't even centered. 

6 hours ago, oldhippy said:

I'm sorry that you are having trouble. Buying cheap tools is an utter waste of money. When using tools you are relying on it to do its perfect job and not damage what you are working on.  I have seen reports on this tool that say it isn't even centered.