Elgin M-56b US Patent

I just ran across this today.  For those of you who enjoy reading patents...have at it (I do it for a living).

The patent number was printed on an M-56b bottle, thus it may not apply to M-56.  We will probably never know the difference.

Elgin Watch Oil Patent US2355616.pdf

Edited by LittleWatchShop

25 minutes ago, spectre6000 said:

For those of us that don't read patents for a living, what about this one in particular is especially interesting/should we be focused on?

Very detailed spec.  If you were a chemist (I am not), you could probably synthesize this with the detail of the spec.

Claim 9 gives a succinct description of the lubricant.

It is the oil I use BTW.

• 1 month later...

I am convinced that 56-a is as good as 56-b.  I have a full bottle of 56-a and equivalent of about four bottles of 56-b (the blue one-drop bottles).  I will never run out of 56-b, but if I did, I would use 56-a. 

All this based on a precise scientific wild ass guess (PSWAG).

I put a drop of both on a glass several months ago and then set it on its side.  The drops appear identical then and now.  Yeah, there's a dozen other tests that should be performed to prove they are equivalent.

Finally, if 56-b had some special sauce, they would have protected it by filing a continuation of their patent.  No evidence that they did.

On 2/12/2023 at 9:14 AM, LittleWatchShop said:

If you were a chemist (I am not), you could probably synthesize this with the detail of the spec.

Claim 9 gives a succinct description of the lubricant.

maybe another approach to get the oil would be if I a company making horological lubrication made a request. Like a request of the watch community please send us your oil and we will analyze it and synthesize it. Then we will sell it under the name Elgin which will upset the holder of the Elgin name and supposedly that's why it's no longer available in this country. I'm attaching a picture of it and the PDF.