New Rookie Joining The Team

Mkay

Just wanted to take a moment and Say Hi, as the title says I'm new around here and to watch making in general, Been reading the forums for a few months and been taking a deep dive in repairing and overhauling watches. Spent a good bit of time watching Marks videos to give me more of an idea of what I was getting myself into. Just wanted to say thank you for all the great videos and all the insight that i have gotten for these forums. I would like to be active on these forums helping out as I can and also get some insight on projects that I'll be working on in the future.

So I'll start by sharing a little background, I started training as a goldsmith when i was 15, doing polishing, simple repairs such as soldering chains and ring sizing then moved on to Casting and refinishing and designing. My goldsmith training was from my parents they been in the industry for over 30 years. I've been doing goldsmithing for nearly 15 years now. during this time I also study to become a gemologist at GIA. So my focus ended up more in the gemologist field doing jewellery appraisal, grading gemstones and diamonds. We open up a store in 2007 and I've been focus on managing and running the retail front of that ever since.

So the reason I started to dive into watch making was due to the fact that not many watch makers are around in my local area any more. In the past 8 years we had 3 watch makers retried. We been looking for new watch makers on and off for many years now so finally I said I had to learn or this will become and endless cycle. So ya this is why here to get insight, learn, have a place to ask questions and hoping to answer some to.

I will post my workshop project and a few other thigns i've been working on soon . :)

Thank you for your time and hope to get to know more people in watch community.

• Like 2