Seiko 6309A Pallet fork not locking?

Hi there,

I am rebuilding a Seiko 6309A movement and have it all cleaned and mostly back together, however after installing the pallet fork I noticed that when I add a bit of power to the gear train the pallet fork oscillates back and forth without stopping/ locking. I installed the balance anyway and tried to get to run, but of course it will not run correctly.

Any ideas about what might be the issue here and how to fix it? 

I'm new and have not come across this before, so any help would be greatly appreciated.  

Thank you,

Bill

OK, well I figured it out, one pallet stone was slightly out of place. Not sure how it got moved, clearly I did it somehow.

I was able to move it back into place and it works fine now. 

It felt like the stone was still held tightly, so I don't think I'll need to redo the shellac. 

• Like 1

Yes, I agree, I've never done that before, so I’m in research mode right now.  Looking at making a pallet warmer, hopefully I can just re-melt what’s there and that’ll tighten it back up.  

Edited by BillM

OK, So I made a simple pallet warmer and tried to re-melt the shellac, but the stuff just would not melt, in fact one piece came loose and I put that piece on a separate
copper plate and tried to melt it, it simply got darker and darker but did not melt.
So I guess I'll have to order some shellac and and replace what's on the pallet currently.
Great learning experience, sure hope I don't mess it up, LOL!

1D817873-81B1-4FEA-B8B8-14984B52E40F.jpeg

• Like 1

4 hours ago, BillM said:

So I made a simple pallet warmer and tried to re-melt the shellac, but the stuff just would not melt

It don't actually know but it's very possible that your pallet fork has epoxy not shellac. Because normally when heated up it should melt there can be variations in the quality a shellac but it should melt eventually.

8 hours ago, JohnR725 said: