Open-Source cleaning machine for newcomers (like me) ??

Hi folks. I'm new to the forum. I'll post a link to my intro forum once the mods give me the official "okeedokee".

Since I'm pretty new to watchmaking but not new to making stuff, I have naturally drifted my thinking toward a DIY project, namely a cleaning machine. I have seen a couple DIY attempts and starts, which are commendable. This got me thinking about an approach which might make a lot of sense, even financially, so that newcomers and maybe even old hands (like a backup machine or whatever) could whip one together for relatively cheap.

The approach I speak of is to have interested parties contribute on an Open Source watch cleaning machine project. I'm not sure how these things are typically organized online, but even a forum thread could be the home base if nothing else.

Designing and iterating a one-off machine like this is probably not efficient in both time and $$ compared to finding a used one for sale. But if a proven design existed and folks just needed to find, download and make it, then it probably would be worth it.

One thing I already did on my own is to pick up a really cheap gear-reduction DC motor, controller and power supply which I have connected up and wrote some code to control it with a microcontroller. The code is just started but I have it oscillating smoothly (reversing back & forth with ramping acceleration). I'll have it working with switches/buttons and have RPM control soon. What I've learned so far is 200rpm (the motor I bought) is not correct like I thought it would be, but rather is too slow (without pulley ratios or something). But it's a start. Parts cost so far: power supply $11, motor $15, microcontroller $3, motor driver $14, total = $33 but could be reduced to maybe half that with better research.