Seiko 7005 Date Wheel Alignment

Hello forum,

I posted on here a few months ago about my first ever attempt to service a watch, a Seiko 7005 to be specific. You correctly advised me that I required a new click

I have now sourced a new click and I am continuing with the rebuild. I'm now working on the calendar side of the movement

I am encountering an issue which I hope someone can clarify. The date wheel is misaligned when it is advanced automatically, i.e. not using the date change setting on the crown. When I inspect the movement closely I see that the date jumper spring isn't quite sitting in the right place on the date wheel (see photo). You can see that it doesn't quite sit properly between 16 and 17. When I manually tweak the jumper's position using tweezers the date wheel will align correctly but, alas, when the date advances again the misalignment problem will return. As a rookie, I can't fathom out what must be going wrong for the jumper to always end up in slightly the wrong place

When I set the jumper in the first instance, I ensure it sits properly against the date wheel. However the date advance finger seems to be throwing it off somehow

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks

20221219_161713[4316].jpg

20221219_163157[4315].jpg

Hi  so when you advance the date manually its ok and indexes correctly, yes.  but not when working on its own power,  i should check the driving wheel and finger for wear. The detent spring and detent also for wear and lack of tension. I have attached the sheets for the 7005 and the 7009 as they employ similar systens.

277_Seiko7009A.pdf 3113_Seiko 7005A (1).pdf

• Thanks 1

You can also try lubricating the tip of the date jumper and the zone of the main plate where the date wheel rests (between 1 and 5 in your photo) (I use HP1300 there). Seiko not always recommend lubbing these areas, but sometimes they do, like in the step 12 of the 6106 assembly.

However, it should not be necessary.

Date-Wheel-Lubrication.jpg