What is Levin "Hard" mean on a Levin lathe?

Hard steel cone bearings in the head. They had a lower grade headstock for a while that used bronze bearings there. Honestly not a big difference, and many extremely good machines used bronze bearings. But the "Hard" was the cream of their crop (until they went with angular contact ball bearings).

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

7 hours ago, markr said:

It's happy to see you.

Haha there is few words in nickelsilver's explaination that i could JUMP on, but I'm just not going there. I'm  assuming the hardened steel bearings are less likely to GRIND to a halt if not regularly SERVICED. Just a thought as I'm not experienced enough to understand this TOOL and would hate to spark a BONE of contention on the subject so i will quietly EJECT myself away from the discussion in HAND. 

I'll be curious if the head fits your other Levin bed, and if the tailstock lines up with both heads. In theory they should, but I have seen enough Levin stuff that wasn't interchangeable that it put me off them in spite of the high quality (except for their cross slides, being head and shoulders above all others I use Levin there).

Levin based their design on the WW or Webster Whitcomb 50mm center height lathe, made by the American Watch Tool Company (later Derbyshire). WW made all the heads and tails to a specific standard, to make sure they were all interchangeable. Other makers tried to do the same (I know Leinen succeeded). I have a hunch that certain eras of Levin lathe parts are interchangeable and then there might have been a shaky period and then who knows- though I would hope that the much later machines were better.

One of the most ball-breaking tasks I've done is hand scrape a set of Levin head/tail/bed that were all made at different times to match each other. It was a favor for a friend too, I think I got a bottle of something for it, haha.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

1 minute ago, nickelsilver said: