Well, I know what it is, but when was it made? Oris cal. 452

I picked up this watch as part of a group from an auction site. Originally I thought it might be a cal. 292 which was (I believe) produced exclusively in the 40's. After opening the case, it turns out to be a cal. 452.

I can't find a lot online about these particular movements. Does anyone know the history?

I'm planning to make a thread for this watch with more images and info as I start working on getting it back into good working order.

IMG_20221018_093151.jpg

IMG_20221018_094443.jpg

IMG_20221018_094814.jpg

IMG_20221018_095951.jpg

IMG_20221018_100736.jpg

IMG_20221018_100749.jpg

I'm a complete novice, but I know it's a pin-lever escapement, and the lume is almost definitely radium, so I know it will a) be annoying to service and b) also be somewhat hazardous.

I'm not planning to start restoring/repairing this watch for my first attempt, I've got some cheaper modern movements on the way that I'll be practising on first. But eventually the plan is to tackle this watch when I have more experience. 

• Like 1

3 hours ago, lexacat said:

I picked up this watch as part of a group from an auction site. Originally I thought it might be a cal. 292 which was (I believe) produced exclusively in the 40's. After opening the case, it turns out to be a cal. 452.

I can't find a lot online about these particular movements. Does anyone know the history?

I'm planning to make a thread for this watch with more images and info as I start working on getting it back into good working order.

IMG_20221018_093151.jpg

IMG_20221018_094443.jpg

IMG_20221018_094814.jpg

IMG_20221018_095951.jpg

IMG_20221018_100736.jpg

IMG_20221018_100749.jpg

I'm a complete novice, but I know it's a pin-lever escapement, and the lume is almost definitely radium, so I know it will a) be annoying to service and b) also be somewhat hazardous.