Waterproof case tubes and crown questions

It's my first time working on a case like this. Benrus three star, where the entire crystal/movement/back pushes out from the front.

Two questions: first, the case tube fell out, and when I went to put it back, I realized it can't be pushed in to the shoulder because it interferes with the movement. Is this normal? I ask because pushed in this far, it's loose enough that it falls out.

I'm guessing I should buy a replacement, but I want to get the correct length.

20221013_213443.thumb.jpg.580fb2b7bdf405d12d4ca6caf84553af.jpg

And second: is there supposed to be an o-ring/gasket under the crown if this is supposed to be a waterproof/resistant case? There was some gelatinous goop in there when I disassembled it, which may have been a seal once upon a time. If so, how do I figure out what kind of gasket I need?

20221013_212552.thumb.jpg.a1c12d0ae1b8a531769498486839ee1c.jpg

20220920_234358.jpg

Hi   Do you have the caliber of the watch.  first question,  is the case tube the origional is the case hole worn. To get a replacement tube you are able to buy from cousins an assortment, that means many more than you will need so measure the case hole, Looks worn,  and order single tube if possible. They are usually a friction fit.  or the alternative is to refit the one you have using a suitable loctite cement and set it to the correct depth.  Again you can buy gaskets but probably best to replace the stem and crown as a pair, crown will come with seal in place. You will no doubt receive more advice so pick it over and decide which option is best for you.... cheers

• Like 2

4 hours ago, watchweasol said:

the caliber of the watch

Thank you for the reply! The movement is a Benrus CF1 / ETA 1256. As for the case, this is all I know:

20221014_095141.thumb.jpg.2114ee27861016a69bf72c09e77c37b8.jpg

4 hours ago, watchweasol said:

set it to the correct depth