ETA 2801-2 balance cock assembly

Hello,

Newbie here that recently finished Mark's classes. I have a 2801-2 movement that was missing the upper Incabloc setting on the balance cock... there was just a hole in the cock. I got a complete setting with the seat, hole jewel, cap jewel and spring. I figured out the Etachron stud drama, removed the hairspring from the cock and pressed in the setting. I was feeling pretty smart at that point and got to what I thought was going to be the easy part... reinstalling the stud support, lower regulator index and upper indicator index. Per the 2801-2 datasheet, I think these are supposed to fit around the Incabloc setting which protrudes above the balance cock by a couple of millimeters. The upper index, which goes on last, is split (presumably so it can expand to fit) and has a lip in the inner circumference which protrudes down (presumably to friction fit against the inner circumference of the lower index which is directly below).

I put all the parts in place and grip the cock with heavy tweezers laid across the setting and below the cock. If I squeeze, I sometimes hear the parts snap into place, but they are not really secure and if I try to manipulate the upper index it all comes apart so my approach is clearly wrong. I did find a post in the walkthrough section of the forum which discussed this, but it didnt really go into detail on this part of the procedure. Has anyone out there done this and willing to offer some tips? Thanks in advance for your help.