Hi. Complete newbie here. I am on Level 2 in Mark's courses. He says in lesson 2.4.5 that the best thing to do when servicing if in doubt is to buy a new mainspring. I don't have a mainspring winder, so will follow his advice on my first project. But how do you order a mainspring? what are the measurements to make? presumably there are left and right handed springs, and I should note which when I take out the old one ? I am going to try an old pocket watch off ebay, so it may not be a recognisable make/model (calibre I think the word is). Thanks so much for any advice and sorry if this has been asked before - I did search the forum.  

55 minutes ago, OceanSprint said:

He says in lesson 2.4.5 that the best thing to do when servicing if in doubt is to buy a new mainspring.

when Mark gives that piece of advice he doesn't explain how to order mainsprings?

The problem now is is a complicated subject.

57 minutes ago, OceanSprint said:

on my first project

if you have a first project that be a good thing to start with as opposed to generic of trying to cover everything.

1 hour ago, OceanSprint said:

left and right handed springs

if the mainspring is brand-new and a package there is no left or right. It just depends on which way you push it in. If you use a mainspring winder and its left then you have to have a handle to wind it in the right direction. Or if you're doing pocket watches which sometimes are left the sometimes the older winders will wind in either direction.

1 hour ago, OceanSprint said:

I am going to try an old pocket watch off ebay, so it may not be a recognisable make/model (calibre I think the word is).

okay I see you answered my question farther down. If you're working on modern watch their sites where you can look up the part number and then order the mainspring that way and there's a lot of things you just don't have to worry about it comes in a nice package you inserted in your good to go but it talking about a pocket watch