Newbie here…hello all!  While looking through the case back window of my watch I decided to use my phone to make a slow motion video of my balance in action.  One thing led to another and ended up taking these videos a different watch orientations.  So when laying flat with dial facing down the stop-to-stop amplitude is approx 420-420 degrees.  But with the watch on its side (9-o’clock up) the amplitude (stop-to-stop) is approx 270-280 degrees.  Is this something to be concerned about?

Oops!  First newbie mistake...need to divide the numbers by two.....I looked up the definition of amplitude and my face turned red as I realized mine is varying between about 210 and 140 depending on orientation.  

• Like 1

If that amplitude is correct, then it is very low. I wouldn't rely on working out the amplitude by filming it with slo-mo. But you have given us nothing about the watch, how old it is, when the last time it was serviced. A 1917 trench watch might be good to go with low amplitudes, but not a modern ETA 2824-2.

Unless you have some sort of timegrapher, I wouldn't rely on visual guesswork regarding the amplitude.

Amplitude isn't measured as the full swing of the balance to full swing of the balance. It's measured as the balance at rest (as the impulse jewel is between the banking pins with no power on the mainspring) to the full swing of the balance. So, you might be thinking the amplitude is something other than it is

• Like 2