Getting my Bulova Accutron running...

I have a Bulova Accutron that I got in the late 70's.  It looks similar to the one  below (mine is silver with a gold bezel).  

I would like to try to remove the back cover and replace the battery.  

Would  anybody know  the battery I  would  need?  I've heard these used some  type of mercury battery that's no longer used.

And, is there a gasket I should try to buy in advance or should I be treating the threads with some type of sealant?

And, to remove the back, should I use something like the Harbor Freight Tool shown (it's at https://www.harborfreight.com/watch-case-opener-91550.html).

Should I also buy a holder for the watch?

I've never done this before and actually am looking forward to it.  Not sure if it'll work or not but I figure I should try.  Anything else I should check  on the watch?

Sorry for all the stupid questions but I am a novice.  😉

image.png.4dd7b9ed39dd9f779bd146bf90b6db02.png

image.png.4919e61f3fae8ed03b4d9dc46c64b791.png

image.png.ea664ff69c208d416c84454eb3e5ab23.png

image.png.a2700f126a131a0698be5079794f4998.png

Those tools should work to get the back off. Battery is a 344. But- and it's a big but, Simone, these watches work in  reverse of normal mechanical watches. They build power to move the hands and date from what becomes a very high torque source. So they will grind through rust and wear until parts literally fall apart or disintegrate- and run to that point, keeping time. If it hasn't been serviced in the last 5-10 years, best to do a full service, or get in line for the rapidly diminishing parts and a more costly service.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, nickelsilver said: