Complete novice has his first learning moment

I'm chuckling as I type this and thought I'd share what just happened to me in the hope that, amongst like minded folk, you might get some amusement form it.

I've loved watches for as long as I can remember. I can't actually believe it's taken me this long to get into the hobby, and then I reflect on how busy my life has been and I get it. However, after being fascinated by watch repair videos on YouTube and finding Mark's courses (like many others I'd imagine) I immersed myself in getting ready to enjoy this incredible hobby.

I jumped onto CousinsUK and formed my wish list of tools. I pressed the button on my order a week or so ago and it was like Christmas when everything arrived. So there I was earlier on today, sat surrounded by gleaming screwdrivers, cannon pinion remover, magnification, tweezers and finger cots as I looked down at my Unitas 6497 and started to disassemble it. I had some lovely soothing music on in the background and felt very zen indeed.

The disassembly want surprisingly well and after what felt like a very short period of time I had all of the parts laid out in front of me. Being a new movement I was surprised that the oil was a bit sticky on some of the pinions and Jewells and decided I might as well clean the Jewells and re-oil the movement as I reassembled it. I successfully cleaned all the set stones with a brush and some one dip and then turned my attention to the shock setting. 

Leaning in very closely I gently turned the shock spring with my tweezers and yep... you guessed it.... the tiny little blighter took flight and seems to have disappeared into the watchmaker ether. Completely vanished and gone forever. Watching all the videos I never really thought it would be that hard to find a spring that decided to jettison away, and now I have my first lesson.