Train Wheel Bridge Reassembly

I am pretty new to watch repair as a hobby, and am loving it so far. I've been working on some old Elgin pocket watch movements for practice.

I am wondering if anyone has any tips for the reassembly of the train of wheels and the train wheel bridge. I know this is probably one of the more difficult steps of reassembly. I am having a difficult time with the lining up of pivots on the bridge while keeping the wheels in their lower pivots.

Any advice for a newbie is very welcome!

Thanks!

Ed

Practice, practice, practice. 

There is no substitute for actual hands on practice. It took me 45 mins to get the train bridge on when I first started. After 4 years of practice, I can usually get a train bridge on in under a minute.

There is no secret technique. Firstly, get all the bottom pivots into their respective holes and stand the wheels as upright as possible. Then take the top plate and orientate the holes to the pivots. Hover the plate just above the pivots and drop the plate on. If you are lucky, you'll get a "hole-in-one".  If not, try using the back end of your tweezer to tap lightly on the movement holder. The vibration may jar the pivots into their holes.

If all else fails, then you have to resort to the "poke and nudge" technique. Use your pegwood to apply gentle pressure on the top plate and use your tweezers to lightly upright the wheels and coax the pivots into their holes. Start with the bigger wheels first and work your way down to the escape wheel.

Sometimes with really stubborn ones, you might have to place some of the screws back in, but do not tighten them. They are placed only to prevent the top plate from separating and allowing the bottom pivots to get out of their holes.

Make sure you have good lighting, work at your shoulder level unless if you are using a microscope. Stay calm and breath slowly. Take breaks before you break something. 

Good luck and enjoy. 

• Like 3