ETA 2789-1

Hello again. 

I am new to the hobby. I have an ETA 2789-1 movement. The stem has snapped near to the movement body. I have attached photographs. My question is:-

Do I have to disassemble the whole movement to achieve a removal? As can be seen, the stem release pin seems to be solid. Can I get to it without have to remove all?  I am worried that as I have a lack of expertise I will not be able to get the movement back together. I have purchase a replacement crown and stem.

Any advice, positive or negative, would be appreciated.

Thank you

Ross

20220223_152412.jpg

20220223_152441.jpg

20220223_152502.jpg

20220223_152512.jpg

Hi Ross.

ETA 2789-1 has a date ring so you will encounter fiddly springs if you attack from dial side, but not much can go wrong when you approach from the rotor side.

1 hour ago, rossjackson01 said:

I am worried that as I have a lack of expertise I will not be able to get the movement back together. 

So take pix as you go. 

Remove the two screws( gun metal colour)  to the auto device,   the module with rotor attached will come off.

Release barrel power by pushing the crown wheel ring aside.

Remove ratchet wheel screw

Remove barrel bridge.

You have access to the stem. 

Good luck

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hi Ross I see the members have come to your assistance, have you tried a little releasing agent   ie WD40 on the release to soften any gunk before taking it apart as suggested, Although If you are stripping it to cleanand lube no problem, do as the chaps have suggested.    good luck

• Thanks 1

Many thanks. So good to have help like yourselves.

I am at the stage where I have the items (tools) to do. basic tool kit. Cleaning tools, ultrasonic, oil and oilers. I can as suggested, remove a balance. I can see what 'LittleWatchShop' is suggesting. I'll try that way first. Crown wheel screw removal.  Job for tomorrow. I will keep you all posted.

Regards

Ross