Gauging interest for a project idea: a new database website for watch calibers

Hello there,

I'd like to gauge interest for a project idea of mine. I'm a web developer by trade and for the moment I'm stuck at home with the good ol' rona, so it got me thinking.

What I'd like to do is fairly simple. Just a new online database for watch calibers. I know how hard it can be to find information on new and old watch movements. And the existing resources albeit great are also showing their age.

So here is what I propose:

I would build an open source web app based on Ruby on Rails and SQL (mariaDB, MySQL, PostgreSQL). Each caliber would have its own page with the following information: brand, model, pictures, year of production, width, height, mainspring reference, lift angle, hand sizes, dial feet position...

Since all the data will be relational, you could browse by brand or by size or width or whatever.

Obviously I cannot gather all this data by myself, I have a bit of experience, but I am an amateur watchmaker at best. I would therefore create formular pages where everyone will be able to upload his/her own caliber information via his/her personal account.

Of course, I would add a basic search engine support.

Currently the online resources I know of:

To bootstrap the database, I would ask those respective website if I'm allowed to scrap their data and of course reference them.

The project would be developed in an open source fashion and published on Github

What do y'all think, would there a need for such or am I just wasting my time.

Is there some things I'm overlooking, functionalities you'd like to have?

Thank you

Edited by m0g
  • Like 3