Anyone doing pivot work?

rustycolt

In a terribly annoying case of 'I should have stopped and gone to bed a half hour ago' I find myself with a broken pallet pivot. As a hobbyist, I haven't got the tooling to repair it myself. Any fin upstanding WRT members with the ability to fix this willing to help a guy out? Happy to pay for the time of course 🙂

IMG_6292.jpeg

@JohnR725 - have you read this post yet?  I know you've spoken of pivots also, but this is a clock rather than a watch.  I'm guessing the principles are the same but the tools are bound to be a tad larger.  I cannot advise here, out of my depth to be honest.  Would you know what we could tell Rustycolt?  Any trusted people in the industry he could take this to?  Or can you do clock pivots as well?  

So far no luck. Nobody local performing this type of service, and by local I mean within 500km (or even in Canada for that matter). I've sent out some service requests to various establishments in the US, but oddly, I'm more comfortable with the members here in terms of having the work performed with care and consideration, regardless of their location! 

I'd love to tool up and advance my skills, and I feel like I constantly am doing just that. Most of my projects are watches, and there is a pretty long list of tools to add there as I progress into more complex jobs. I work on one, maybe two clocks a year just as a curiosity. If I see something mechanical in the classifieds that isn't expensive, it ends up in pieces on my bench basically 🙂 Perhaps I'll dive a bit deeper with them in the future, but there are a number of very basic tools that would be required before I was ready to shop for a lathe. For now I am at the mercy of the good people here for guidance. My fingers remain crossed, and my gratitude to those participating remains extended!

6 hours ago, HectorLooi said:

What about using a quick pivot?