Health of the Industry

In light of the recent news regarding shortages of lorry drivers etc I'm curious to know, preferably from those who actually work in this field, if there is a looming problem on the horizon?

Anecdotally, and in spite of the abundance of technology in everyones' pocket, it appears that demand for (mechanical) watches is still high. A recurring theme that keeps cropping up though is that not enough people are being trained to do the repair/servicing that these watches will require. Is this a lack of understanding about the industry or is there something in it? Had I been nearer the beginning of my working life I could see myself looking more seriously at a career in this field.

Your thoughts?

I have found that indeed there is a shortage and in particular with lower value watches and vintage clocks. I am a very keen amateur and 75% of my work is vintage clocks.  Why, because if someone wants to know the time they just look at their smartphone. With clocks most have sentimental value and some just believe the chiming of a clock just adds something to a room.
IMO unless you are working on high end watches under the umbrella of Omega or Rolex etc earning a living wage as an independent is extremely difficult. 

I think clockboy is spot on. The clocks/watches I work on are have more of an intrinsic/sentimental value and spares are not at a premium, couple that with the fact that  repairing and servicing these old items take time and for the independent watch repairer to make his money the prices are high or the job refused because of whats involved. they have to have a fair turnover. Consider a battery change, some charge upto £20, if you get 10/15 of those through the door its quite a bit and takes a few mins depending on the watch.  There are central workshops as used by the high street cobblers where they send any thing more than a strap or a stock crystal.