Mineral glass for Sapphire swap on Solar charged movements

Hi Everyone. Hope you are all well.

So the Citizen I have (E100-K18434 CK) is in need of a new crystal. Old one is scratched and chipped. Seems the last owned did a number on it lol.

OEM for this Citizen is for flat mineral glass, but given this is a Titanium Citizen I was thinking I should upgrade the crystal to a domed sapphire when ordering a generic crystal for replacement.

Are there any issues with solar movements (Citizen Eco-drive E-100 calibre this one is specifically) and swapping out mineral for sapphire with regards to the difference in refractivity, reflectivity and the light and and bearing it may have on the solar charging component of the watch? Any other issues doing a swap like this? I know that a lot of the latest Titanium CItizen's have sapphire on their Eco-drive calibres but thought I should ask especially given I have never done a swap (or a crystal change) before so...yeah haha.

Cheers!

4 hours ago, WatchingOracle said:

Are there any issues with solar movements (Citizen Eco-drive E-100 calibre this one is specifically) and swapping out mineral for sapphire with regards to the difference in refractivity, reflectivity and the light and and bearing it may have on the solar charging component of the watch?

Really I don't think there is any. The efficiency of these is very high, a brief exposition is enough to get a solar watch running for a long time.

• Thanks 1