Napoleon Hat

RogerH

Hi all, I acquired a lovely old “Napoleon Hat” clock at the weekend. Complete but not working. I suspect the previous owners smoked as it’s all blackened and sticky. So I carried out a complete strip down and clean, the mech looks to be of good quality and luckily all bushes and pins were in good order. I’ve reassembled and the time train is working nicely. The Chime side however is definitely off. It’s a Westminster chime so effectively two trains that work but not when they should do! The clock was made by Camerer and Cuss, who I can find on the web but I have no knowledge of the mech. All there is on the plate is one stamp and no name. can anyone help identify it? or at least point the way to sorting out the timing of the chimes.

Camerer and Cuss (6).jpg

Camerer and Cuss (2).jpg

Camerer and Cuss (5).jpg

Camerer and Cuss (3).jpg

Camerer and Cuss (1).jpg

Camerer and Cuss (4).jpg

Back Plate.jpg

• Like 1

So, following some extensive research - and by that I mean Google - I've managed to find hardly anything on the Urgos Mech! I think Watchweasol is correct though as the pictures I have seen to match up. Any further info would be much appreciated. Meanwhile, however, I've studied the movement and have managed to adjust the timing so it's now running beautifully. I'm still interested to learn more but I'll post a pic on the finished clock once it's had a good test.

I don't know how I came to miss this one.

It is a good quality movement. Being able to remove the barrels individually is a sign of quality. Its pre war around 1930 as the logo on the back plate was the last one they used.  After the war they moved to America and I think traded under a different name.  

I have found out that the number 15 gives you the length in cms of the pendulum.