Hello from Australia

Luke777

Hello to all, I'm Luke.

I live in Far North Queensland Australia and I have just finished level 3 of the Watch Repair Course. I loved it. I have also been reading and learning as much as I can about mechanical timepieces for many years but have no formal training.

I am a registered Paramedic (20 years) but also a qualified machinist.

I have very little experience with watches, just a dabbling here and there. I am fascinated by the craft. I applied many years ago for a Horology apprenticeship but it was filled by the (big) company internally so I missed out and went on to do other things.

I have invested in a fair bit of basic tooling to get me started and have almost finished building a purpose-specific tabletop bench based on photos off the internet. Hopefully it works well.

Thank you so much to everyone here in advance for the sharing of so much knowledge. I am excited to learn.

Kind regards. Luke

IMG-20210305-WA0000.jpeg

8 hours ago, watchweasol said:

Hello and welcome to the forum Luke.  Nice looking bench well done. attached a couple of documents for your interest.

Thank you for the links. I'll check them out. Like everyone new to this realm I am bumbling through trying to work out the best tool options to look out for and save for. What type of staking tool (thinking something with micrometer attachment for ?end-shake tweaking) and timing apparatus.... I'll keep reading and learning. Thank you all very much!

8 hours ago, watchweasol said:

A staking tool is not used to adjust endshake, if you are talking about adjusting jewels.

For that you want a jeweling tool.

There are some American staking tools that do have a micrometer adjustment, but your realy want both a staking set and a jeweling set.