I have an L&R Master cleaning machine. I had emptied the jars and cleaned them when my daughter comes in to bring me for dinner. In the ensuing chase (she's 4 and likes to play with everything, more so when I tell her not to) one of the jars hits the floor. Arrrgh. Anyway, after doing some research, I found an interesting post on NAWCC that quart mason jars work well as a replacement. The post was from 2009, but I was wondering if anyone could confirm or dispute this. Trying to get an original online is going to take a while and I have a customer's pocketwatch (1950 Elgin) that I'm not going to put in the ultrasonic. Any input would be helpful.

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

You can't, the time is fixed because the indexing motor runs a certain speed and it runs constantly until the basket drops into the next jar. You should concentrate instead on making sure the spi

Sorry, "You can't" might be a little strong.  If you give up on using the electro-mechanical timing and synchronizing system built into the machine out of simple cams and switches, and replace all tha

My rinse's jug just says L&R Ultrasonic Watch Rinsing Solution.  An older one waiting for disposal does say #3 though, I don't know what the difference is.  I use the ammoniated #111 cleaner.

Posted Images

Why won't you use the ultrasonic meantime? I've been using one for the last three to four years without any problem, just don't put dial and hands in it. There are a lot of others on here using ultrasonics too.

Why won't you use the ultrasonic meantime? I've been using one for the last three to four years without any problem, just don't put dial and hands in it. There are a lot of others on here using ultrasonics too.

Normally I would. I've used ultrasonics often enough and generally like the results, but this Elgin has some gilding on the movement that my ultrasonic would peel off like a grape.