Hello From Québec

SeikoWatch

well, I'm from Québec and i'm addictted to the watches and clocks since about 5 years.. However I love Seiko brand and Bulova...I also collect old bicycles...I'm sure if I need a secret,  what ever, i'll find what I need here.. :thumbsu: You'll see that is missing an insert :(

post-93-0-37359300-1392592117_thumb.jpg

Thank you Ianmedium for your nice comment   yes I live in Québec and i'm a newbie. However, I already repaired some watches and 3 clocks at this day... as you will see. the English is not my main language but I speak french and I don't use a translator....

What I have: 2 Seikos from 1974 and the other  ( my avatar ) is 80 but i'm not sure..., 2 Bulova from the 50'S... I have a LIP quartz, ...many others :)..

Hello & welcome to the forum. If you want to date your Seiko go here http://www.csce.uark.edu/~jgauch/photos/seiko/ it woks well. Seiko movement parts & crystals are quite easy to find, case parts less so. As for the dials, unless its a diver, chrono or bellmatic spares are very rare.

• Like 1

Black lab: when I use the link that you gave me, I can date my Watch Under different year with the numbers i have on the back of my Seiko. If I click ' decade ' .. one says ' 1988 ' , 1978 , 1968  I don't understand...

My Seiko is :

Seiko 5

8D7545

7009-821A

This is the information from my automatic Seiko

Black lab: when I use the link that you gave me, I can date my Watch Under different year with the numbers i have on the back of my Seiko. If I click ' decade ' .. one says ' 1988 ' , 1978 , 1968  I don't understand...

My Seiko is :

Seiko 5

8D7545

7009-821A

This is the information from my automatic Seiko

Since the early 1960's Seiko have used a date system within their serial number.

The first digit is the year made

The second digit is the month made

1 - Jan

2 - Feb

3 - Mar

4 - Apr

5 - May

6 - Jun

7 - Jul

8 - Aug

9 - Sep

O - Oct

N - Nov

D - Dec

The remaining digits are the serial number