Watch case holder tool Die Shape & Material

Hi,

This is my first post on any site, so hello.

I am a novice at watch servicing and repair, but am making my move, I hope, to the next level and am therefore slowly upgrading certain tools, working area and approach, such as how to avoid damage to any part of the watch. As part of this I have been looking for recommendations online as to what is the best shape and material for watch case holder pins, jaws or dies as it seems to me that these factors could influence how well the holder grips and retains the watch case in the holder without mishap. I am leaning towards those with a flat edge at the bottom of the die with the upper part sloping outwards to help prevent the case slipping up & out if you have to apply a good amount of torque because the back is on very tight.

Any thoughts to help me make my decision which units to buy?

Many thanks.

Neil

I have covered the subject in the topic below. There is also a wooden type which I cover separately, you can adapt it to the actual shape for stubborn cases. Get a couple different and try yourself, that helps more than speculating.

Hi  Neil and welcome to the forum    I have attached two documents that you may find useful regarding watch repair, there is also another tool lost on the site, found through the search function on the home screen by DrG who is a member. Again its a comprehensive list.      cheers

1612608791_ToolsfortheHobbyist (1).pdf TZIllustratedGlossary.pdf

• Like 1

Thanks.