Seiko 5

Hello Folks, A Seiko Saga

got myself a cheap Seiko 5 from the Bay (India). 

post-197-0-60220200-1425641123_thumb.jpg

This was bought with the intention of stripping it down and cleaning it and putting it back together as I have never done a Seiko before.  It came with a cheap black strap which I have changed out of stock but there were a couple of other problems.

Visually it looks ok to me but I am not au fait with the detail of the watch.  Looking at it the dial is a degree or two off centre and you can see the second markings only between 11 and 1.  Next i noticed that it kept stopping at the same place and on examination it was always when the second hand was on top of the minute hand. 

The Day and date on this watch are crystal clear unlike some others I have seen which show the effects of age and look a bit grimy.  oddly I have noticed on the Indian Imports that very often the dial is re finished (often to quite a high standard) but they rarely do anything with the day and date wheels. The case is quite good and is stainless steel.

I opened it up and the old guy looks a tad battle weary

post-197-0-81138800-1425641154_thumb.jpg

Whipped off the weight and had a go with the fibre brush and the corrosion goes quite deep.  There is corrosion on a couple of the wheels which I will attend to when I strip it and clean it. the Weight could have been catching a case sometime but also looks a bit like water damage.  Oddly the ball race is good and the weight spins freely with little play and no marks on the case inners.  The weight may or may not be original but lets face it that goes for all the parts (and a lot of the stuff I have tinkered with by the time I am finished).

The balance is really free and goes well for a minute then stops when the hands meet.  Its under warranty but It would cost about eight quid to send it back tracked so that is not happening.