Just Finished This One For My Wife!

DJW

First off, let me say I've thoroughly enjoyed the YouTube videos from the "Watch Repair Channel" and more specific, I've enjoyed listening to you, Mark. I've been tinkering with watches now for about 7 years and am self taught. I really wish I could have gone to school to learn the trade, but it was not in the cards!

This is one of my latest creations. I hand painted the dial myself and overhauled the Hamilton 917 movement. It is fitted in a 44mm stainless steel case with a matching Leather strap. My wife loves it!

post-90-0-66901700-1392213941_thumb.jpgpost-90-0-19354400-1392213954_thumb.jpgpost-90-0-61467800-1392213964_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

Very nice - my son just gave it a thumbs up ;) (he's an art student).

Out of interest - do you finish the dial with anything after painting for protection?

Thank you! and tell your son thanks as well!

as far as protection, that's something I'm dealing with right now. I put about 10 coats of varnish on the dial, but varnish remains soft. So, whenever I have to disassemble the watch I have to try and not touch the dial as it will leave a mark, or scratch. This is particularly difficult when removing the hands.  The technique I use is to use a Presto type hand remover and just place the tool directly under the hands and pull up, not ever touching the dial.

I'm looking at a clear enamel paint that dries hard to replace the varnish that I use now.

How about a clear acrylic lacquer. I would think that would dry hard as nails.

I have tried painting dials in the past with pretty bad results, but it is something that really interests me.

It's funny you mention that...I just ordered a number of different clears to test and that is one of them. 

I'm amazed at your artistic talent,  the Hamilton's are very nice as well.

RogerC

Thanks Roger! I'm trying to make a go at it as a business too! But, it's been slow going ;-(