Users of 4R36, Need Your Opinion

Hi !

I am totally new to using an automatic watch. I have been using a Seiko 4r36 (SRPC25K) for 10 days and enjoying it thus far. However, here is my question:

I am trying to learn the watch so I have been screwing down and tightening the crown for quite multiple times since I bought it. I have particularly checked it today as I thought there was a problem with the crown since it felt a bit gritty and not smooth as I wished, as if something was blocking the rotation or the crown. I also had difficulties to tighten it. But then I figured out that I was not applying adequate pressure to tighten it. Soon as I started to use just a bit more force to tighten, the problem seemed to be solved. I tried my "uber advanced" solution a couple of times later and the screwing mechanism felt much better without any issues, and I managed to tighten my crown with no problems. Nevertheless, it is still not a smooth operation as how I wished it to be. Might I have harmed the mechanism or crown owing to this process of screwing down and tightening repatedly ? Apparently, the crown does not wobble. I don't have any issues with the accuracy of the mechanism either. I might be "chickening" but hey, chickening is not bad here .

image.gif

I don't think you have anything to worry about unless you engage the keyless works obsessively over a long period of time.

14 minutes ago, Emre78 said:

Nevertheless, it is still not a smooth operation as how I wished it to be.

It can actually wary a bit between individual copies. The keyless works (used to wind and set the time, day, and date) is mechanically one of the more complex sections of your watch with many individual parts and springs interacting with each other. A little too much or a little too little  lubrication on this or that part can definitely affect the feeling. It could also be that a spring has a bit too much tension but that could change over time.